Tags

,

I came across this during a search for “sense of entitlement”: Bill O’Reilly: Bill’s Column – Decent Citizen Behavior. It speaks to the troubling emergence in Western society of this cultural cancer. It invades our economic and political discussions and motivates Tea Partiers and Republicans to rants and raves. Without getting into the economic and political repercussions, I want to focus on what I believe we are REALLY entitled to in this life. And it ain’t free birth control…

According to Wikipedia, “in a casual sense, the term “entitlement” refers to a notion or belief that one (or oneself) is deserving of some particular reward or benefit.” Take a good look at yourself. What do you feel entitled to? Be honest with yourself. I’ll bet you come up with a list that includes at least the freedom to pursue your own life choices, a little love now and then, more good days than bad days, good weather more often than not, food to feed my family, a roof over my head, a means of transportation so I can get and keep a job. Some of you might even think the list ought to include money in the bank, a college education, healthcare, a nice car, parents who love and treat me well, a happy childhood, an adequate nest egg for retirement, one nice vacation a year, a body that looks more like it did when I was 25. I know most of those are on my list, if I’m truly honest with myself!

In truth, however, if we’re even more honest with ourselves, do we agree that we truly entitled to any of these things? Or are they a wish list, a sort of bottom tier to Maslow’s Hierarchy of Needs? “If I have these things, I can deal with anything else. The Universe at least owes me that much.” Having lived to the ripe old age of 50, I look around and see loads of people who don’t have much on that list. Millions don’t even have anything on that list. How can the Universe be so cruel?

Fortunately, there is something that’s not on that list but that represents the ONLY thing we’re entitled to as creatures living on this planet: miracles. Read my favorite book (A Course in Miracles) and you’ll see it mentioned in Lesson 89, p. 154: “I am entitled to miracles because I am under no laws but God’s.”

How mind-blowing is that! Cultivate THAT sense of entitlement and see where it takes you!

